About the Competition & Awards
2019 Design Problem & Application
2019 Rules & Submission Instructions
2019 Winners
Past Design Problems/Winners
Be A Supporter
Contact Us


The 2013 Design Problem

The architect for a high tech company in Silicon Valley wants a feature pendant light fixture for the entry lobby of their new building.  Your first impression of the lobby will be from afar through its 2 story, 22’ high glass curtain wall.  The lobby is used for receiving visitors and company functions at night.  This innovative company is known for showcasing advanced technologies, energy efficiency and cutting edge design.  The project team is pursuing a LEED Gold rating.  Design a light fixture that will light the architecture and the task, be energy efficient and reflect the personality of the company.  It is up to you to determine the lobby design.  Consider maintenance issues, the appearance of the fixture when it is on and off during the day and the view from near and far.  Your pendant should use energy-efficient lamps, such as fluorescent, LED, OLED or other light sources with good color rendering and long life. The ballast or power supply should be integral to the fixture.  Self-ballasted lamps and other retrofit lamps that fit into incandescent screw base sockets are not acceptable.  Identify all major components and materials.


First Place Winner 2013
Xuan Liu
Interior Environments Design
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia

Second Place Winner 2013
Michael Bednar
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio

Third Place Winner 2013
Nick Nguyen
Interior Design
The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Citation for
Innovative Concept 2013
Yi-Ting Wei
Interior Architecture
Woodbury University
Burbank, California

Citation for
Technical Acheivement 2013
Mary Blair
Interior Design
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Citation for
Presentation 2013
Rebecca Gardner
Interior Design
Brigham Young University - Idaho
Rexburg, Idaho


2003 Winners

2004 Winners

2005 Winners

2006 Winners

2007 Winners

2008 Winners

2009 Winners

2010 Winners

2011 Winners

2012 Winners

2014 Winners

2015 Winners

2016 Winners

2017 Winners

2018 Winners

2019 Winners